Mary E. Pearce

Mary E PearceMary E. Pearce was born in 1933 and spent her childhood in London. Her first job was as a library assistant for a Boots lending library. She also worked as a filing clerk, shop assistant, waitress and usherette.

Mary moved to Worcestershire, and shortly afterwards had her first writing success, with publication of a short story. She wrote more short stories, before her first novel, Apple Tree Lean Down, was published. This was to be the first of a series of five novels connected by a large cast of characters. Later, Mary moved to Gloucestershire, the setting of The Two Farms.

Over a long and successful writing career, Mary wrote 9 novels. They were described as “sheer country magic” by the author James Herriot, and Catherine Cookson called Mary “a storyteller after my own heart”.

Read Mary E. Pearce’s novels in exclusive ebook editions from Wyndham Books:

The Apple Tree Saga
Apple Tree Lean Down
Jack Mercybright
The Sorrowing Wind
The Land Endures
Seedtime and Harvest

Standalone Family Sagas
Cast a Long Shadow
Polsinney Harbour
The Two Farms
The Old House at Railes